Playlist – 19th February 2009

We’re excited already!

Advance notice of tonight’s playlist is appearing on the blog because we’ve got so much great new music to play. There will be an exclusive Japanese mix (including a jazzy take on Common’s Be track), some great tracks from the recent crop of Black Saint reissues now available for the first time on CD and cuts from two new CDs receiving hugely favourable reviews around the world – Ambrose Akinmusire’s album Prelude to Cora and Finn Peters’ second CD Butterflies.

Add to that a track from Don Ellis’s tripped-out 1967 album Electric Bath which was actually released as a single, a cut from John Coltrane’s rare live in Japan album and – of course – more classic Blue Note.

Join us and listen to two hours of music that’s out of this world on Cosmic Jazz between 8 and 10 pm UK time here on ICRFM.

1. Lee Morgan – Afreaka
2. Ambrose Akinmusire – Dreams of the Manbahsniese
3. Big Bang – Spiral Waltz (Indigo Jam Unit remix)
4. Aaron Parks – Nemesis
5. Indigo Jam Unit – Be
6. Donald Fagen – New Frontier
7. Quasimode feat. Valerie Etienne – Little B’s Poem
8. Finn Peters – Butterflies
9. Donald Byrd – Elijah
10. the Don Ellis Orchestra – Indian Lady (single version)
11. Beat Out Shrine – Pinkie
12. Kahil El’Zabar Ritual Trio – Fatsmo
13. Nation of Multiverse feat Monday Michiru – Butterfly
14. Miles Davis – So What (live)
15. What’s Up? – Vanity
16. John Coltrane – Peace on Earth (live)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *