Playlist – 26th March 2009

Due to illness this was a solo show from Derek. There were requests from two students that Neil had been working with that day – one for Fela Kuti and one for some dub – hence Water No Get Enemy and the African Dub track. Keep listening Dami and Jugdeep – and spread the word!

I was pleased, in particular, to play something by Sounds of the Unexpected, a Norwegian group that includes an ex-Brighton resident Tim Lowerin on saxophone. We have received a copy of their CD and like it very much. They describe themselves as a jazz group with a poignant sense of melody, mixing up a wide range of styles in the process – folk, Balkan, ska, flamenco and more. Check them on myspace: of the unexpected.

There was a taster for the BBC 4 programme on jazz records made in 1959 with tracks by Dave Brubeck and Charles Mingus. Friday nights looks like being a jazz night on BBC4 for the forseeable future – coming up on Friday 03 April is Cool – an exploration of how American jazz culture spread round the world following release of that Miles Davis early classic album Birth of the Cool. I was also pleased to include a tune from the highly recommended new Ravi Coltrane album In Flux and some established favourites like Jose James, Wayne Shorter and Andrew Hill.

Des from the Ipswich Jazz Collective will share records with us on the next programme – 02 April – and listen out for Jazz Greats, a new show on ICR presented by Alan Bramwell from 17.00 – 18.00 hrs on Monday nights. Next week sees the birthdays of Gil Scott Heron and Herbie Hancock so catch some of their great music on the show.

1. Michael Brecker – Two Steps from the Edge
2. John Coltrane – AfroBlue
3. Wayne Shorter – Angola
4. Fela Anikulapo Kuti – Water No Get Enemy
5. Jose James – The Dreamer
6. African Dub – Lovers Serenade
7. What’s Up – That’s Not Cool at All
8. Sounds of the Unexpected – Her kommer superegoene
9. Ravi Coltrane – For Zoe
10. Dave Brubeck – Take Five
11. Roberto Roena – Take Five (Nicola Conte remix)
12. Charles Mingus – Slop
13. Andrew Hill – Compulsion
14. Indigo Jam Unit – Be
15. Russell Gunn – Del Rio (aka Anita)
16. Jarzinho Oliveira – Falso Amor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *