Playlist – 9th April 2009

What’s so good about playing music on Cosmic Jazz each week is that we get to hear so much new stuff. Right now, there’s a buzz around Andy Sheppard’s new album – and it’s justified. His playing is confident and assured throughout; the grooves are relaxed but compact and the ECM sound (it’s his first on the label) is as pristine as always. Sheppard is joined by bassist Arild Andersen, guitarists Eivind Aarset and John Parricelli (two very different styles) and percussionist Kuljit Bhamra and he’s touring the album right now. We’ll be playing more from Movements in Colour over coming weeks.

It’s a similar story with Ravi Coltrane’s new CD – this confident music that shows just how much Coltrane has emerged from his father’s long shadow. Meanwhile, Jon Hassell’s new CD (also for ECM) breaks no new ground but is another characteristic distillation of wispy trumpet sounds with subtlely changing electonic treatments in the background.

Also on tonight’s show was an drum and bass influenced interpretation of Ornette Coleman’s classic Lonely Woman from Joshua Redman, more from percussionist Manny Oquendo and Gil Scott-Heron and a quirky rendition of Neal Hefti’s Batman theme from the irrepressible Sun Ra.

Neil tried being Robert Glasper as he mixed the original Maiden Voyage with Brad Meldau’s take on Radiohead’s Everything in its Right Place and Derek showed how cool Japanese band What’s Up? really are with a great track that belied its title.

More new music next week. Listen in to Cosmic Jazz every Thursday from 20.00 – 22.00hrs UK time.

1. Skream – Sub Island
2. Joshua Redman’s Elastic Band – Lonely Woman
3. Dee Dee Bridgewater – Children Go Round
4. African Dub – Midnight Movie
5. Ravi Coltrane – Coincide
6. Andy Sheppard – Bing
7. Manny Oquendo and Libre – Alabanciosa
8. Corey Wilkes – Drop It
9. Terence Blanchard /Donald Harrison – Are You Sleeping?
10. Herbie Hancock – Maiden Voyage/Brad Meldau – Everything in its Right Place
11. Lee Morgan – Fathead
12. Sun Ra – Batman theme
13. Quasimode (feat. Valerie Etienne) – Little B’s Poem
14. Tanya Winley – Vicious Rap
15. Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson – Peace Go With You Brother
16. Beat Out Shrine – Pinkie
17. John Coltrane – Inchworm
18. Marcos Valle – Escape
19. What’s Up? – That’s Not Cool At All
20. Jon Hassell – Time and Place

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *