Playlist – 17 September 2009

Tonight’s show features new music from Texan pianist Robert Glasper, Norwich based Red Shadow Quartet and Dub Colossus recorded in Addis Ababa – all outernational Cosmic Jazz music.  We had our usual Japanese jazz diversion with the What’s Up crew and also played a track from undervalued US vocalist N’Dambi’s second album Tunin’ Up and Cosignin’.  There’s news that a fourth album titled Pink Elephant will be released by Stax later this year.  Again, in advance of our live show on 23 September we featured more latin jazz including Yusef Lateef’s great Oscarlypso – a track we’ll definitely be spinning at Saints.

  1. Dub Colossus – Black Rose (Sidestepper remix)
  2. Red Shadow Quartet – Turning Point
  3. Gato Barbieri – Carnavalito
  4. Robert Glasper – Intro / No Worries
  5. What’s Up – Get Into Trouble
  6. The Misled Children and Odean Pope – Dadadun
  7. N’Dambi – Bitter Bitter Blue
  8. Roy Haynes and The Fountain of Youth Band – James
  9. Joe Henderson – El Barrio
  10. Kenny Barron – Fungii Mama
  11. Manteca – Abacua
  12. Mongo Santamaria – Costa D’Oro
  13. Yusef Lateef – Oscarlypso
  14. Beat Out Shrine – Pinkie
  15. Fumio Itabashi – Rise and Shine (full edit)
  16. Kenny Werner – Kothbiro
  17. Dollar Brand – Anthem for the New Nation
  18. Robert Glasper – Butterfly

Don’t forget to join us at Saints on 23 September!  Check out the What’s On update for more details.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *