Playlist – 24 September 2009

Tonight’s Cosmic Jazz featured new music from Steve Kuhn and Vijay Iyer, a track from the just released Fat Freddy’s Drop CD and Albert Ayler recorded at John Coltrane’s funeral!  For more on Kuhn’s excellent new ECM CD,  find out more about what we think of Mostly Coltrane in our review section.

We started with Max Roach and then threw some Roy Ayers, John Scofield and McCoy Tyner into the mix.  It’s all here on Cosmic Jazz – live at at our new start time of 8:30pm.

  1. Max Roach – Freedom Day
  2. Fat Freddy’s Drop – Big BW
  3. John Coltrane – Seraphic Light
  4. Albert Ayler – Love Cry/Truth is Marching In/Our Prayer (live at John Coltrane’s funeral 21 July 1967)
  5. Tenorio JR – Consolacao
  6. EST – Dodge the Dodo
  7. Eddie Harris, Nils Landgren, Bernard Purdie with the WDR Big Band – Wade in the Water
  8. Hank Mobley – East of the Village
  9. John Scofield – A Go Go
  10. The Juju Orchestra – Do It Again
  11. Roy Ayers – He’s Coming
  12. Max Roach – Effi
  13. Steve Kuhn – Song of Praise
  14. Hajime Yoshizawa – Yoake -Dawn-
  15. Vijay Iyer Trio – Galang
  16. McCoy Tyner – African Village

Well – we didn’t expect thirty minutes less music time, but we still crammed in sixteen tracks of Cosmic Jazz!

Let us know what you think of the show and send us a comment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *