Playlist – 10 November 2011

A solo show from Derek inspired by the London Jazz Festival and the jazz bargains  currently available. Players featured at this year’s LJF were: Kairos 4Tet, Roy Haynes, Robert Glasper, Matthew Halsall and McCoy Tyner.

Sonny Rollins and Elvin Jones feature on the Impulse! 2 on 1 series currently available at a very low price (around £4) to celebrate 50 years of Impulse! Records. McCoy Tyner, Joe Henderson and Gene Ammons are among the £3 jazz bargains at Fopp branches around the UK.

  1. Yusef Lateef – Psychicemotus
  2. Afro-Soultet –  Apiro Bugaloo
  3. Fania All Stars – Cocinando
  4. Sonny Rollins – On Green Dolphin Street
  5. Elvin Jones – Dear John C
  6. Kairos 4Tet – Maybe Next Year
  7. Matthew Halsall – On the Other Side of the World
  8. Roy Haynes – Segment
  9. Robert Glasper – No Worries
  10. McCoy Tyner – 13th House
  11. Joe Henderson – Tres Palabras
  12. Gene Ammons – Moito Mato Grosso

One thought on “Playlist – 10 November 2011”

  1. Enjoying the programme on Listen Again from the other side of the world in Beijing. Great to hear the Fania All Stars with Cocinando and loved the Roy Haynes and Robert Glasper sequencing.
    Looking forward to more next week!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *