Playlist – 14 June 2012

After two weeks in which visitors to the programme enriched and widened our jazz repertoire, it was time for a solo show from Derek. A time to catch up with some of the tunes that he has been waiting to play; a time for a promised Sun Ra classic and lots of new music too – more from the Cohran family, Jessica Lauren and Gregory Porter.

Also in tonight’s mix was Rahsaan Roland Kirk’s take on the Bill Withers’ anthem Ain’t No Sunshine, Roy Hargrove’s Latinised version of Kenny Dorham’s Afrodisia and Esperanza Spalding’s unique response to Michael Jackson’s I Can’t Help It.

  1. Sun Ra – Space is the Place
  2. Rahsaan Roland Kirk – Ain’t No Sunshine
  3. Jessica Lauren Four – The Name Of Fela Will Always Stand For Freedom
  4. Roy Hargrove’s Crisol – Afrodisia
  5. Randy Weston – The Call
  6. Charlie Haden Liberation Orchestra – El Quinto Regimiento
  7. Kenny Garrett – Welcome Earth Song
  8. Gregory Porter – When Did You Learn
  9. Esperanza Spalding feat Joe Lovano – I Can’t Help It
  10. Ambrose Akinmusire – With Love
  11. Kelan Philip Cohran and the Hypnotic Brass Ensemble – Spin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *