Playlist – 29 October 2014: CJ in a different groove

Click the Mixcloud tab to hear this week’s show: Cosmic Jazz with a difference, music which our blog creator Jacob brought in with him from Norwich.

It is not that often that we hear Mos Def but there he was starting off the show. You could be forgiven for not expecting to see listed on the show’s playlist a band with the name of Obama and The Yes We Can Latin Gunk Express. Fear not, they provided a spirited and fascinating adaptation  ofSam and Dave’s Hold On I’m Comin’.

There were still  some old Cosmic Jazz  favourites but special mention this week must go to Mammal Hands from Norwich, who we played for the first time. We strongly recommend their new album Animalia released on Matthew Halsall’s Gondwana label and their line-up of piano, drums and bass challenges the usual notion of the jazz trio. Mammal Hands provide music that is spiritual, cosmic, uplifting and innovative; seek it out and check the video below.

The final Norwich connection was about a band due to play at the Norwich Arts Centre on Monday 8 December. The Hypnotic Brass Ensemble  is a group comprising sons of Philip Cohran, a Cosmic Jazz favorite in his own right but also once a member of Sun Ra’s band. The Brass Ensemble will definitely provide a night to remember. If you are in the area, see you there!

  1. Mos Def – May-December
  2. Hypnotic Brass Ensemble – Touch The Sky
  3. Mammal Hands – Kandaiki
  4. Mammal Hands – Tiny Crumb
  5. Obama and the Yes We Can Latin Gunk Express – Hold On (Crackle and Pop Re-edit)
  6. Kenichiro Nishihara – Nebulosa
  7. Shaolin Afronauts – Winds Across Gyanamede
  8. Somi – Wise
  9. Samuel Prather – Carnival di Panama
  10. Hypnotic Brass Ensemble – Black Boy
  11. Samon Kawamura – U Nu
  12. Rosa Passos – Wave

One thought on “Playlist – 29 October 2014: CJ in a different groove”

  1. Hey Cosmic Jazz crew. Nice show (of course!). That Hold On I’m Coming is actually Fred Ramirez. I’ve got an original copy on 45. I’m afraid Barrack and his gang have bootlegged it. I don’t even think it’s a re-edit – sounds untouched to me on mixcloud anyway. Thought you’d like to know 🙂 Peace.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *